België

BELGIEEX-DEELNEMERS

Sandra Kim has regret Eurovision participation

Unfortunately this article is not available in English and has been automatically translated. Please visit our homepage for all English content or get an overview of all English articles here. You can also request a translation by sending us an email.

Journalists Ann Van Den Broek and Jan Davidson today in the newspaper the morning bring the story of the trail that Sandra Calderone – the real name of Sandra Kim made – before, during and after the Eurovision Song Contest.

The article was deliberately published today, because it is day on day 30 years ago that Kim won the Eurovision song contest. On 3 May 1986, they convinced the European juries with the song J’aime la vie and picked them as the as yet only Belgian victory ever in the game. A few weeks ago, she published her biography Si j’avais su, or ‘ if I had known ‘. The full article can be read today in the paper edition of the morning. Subscribers can also find the article online .

Barbara Streisand

Sandra Kim won the Eurovision song contest when she was only thirteen, becoming the youngest ever was – and will continue by the imposed minimum age of sixteen years who was introduced in 1990 – but the girl sang on much younger age. On her eighth won the Liège girl by Italian migrants La voix de l’avenir the talent show with a rendition of New York, New York by Barbara Streisand.

In 1985, on her twelfth, she wrote also the Festival della Canzone Italiana in Belgio on her name. After that victory were Sandra’s parents approached by Rosario Marino-Atria, which are raised as her manager. And that would not be without problems.

No real surprise

Her manager wrote her in for the Walloon Eurovision heat in 1986, which Kim won on one hand. Belgium was immediately bombed as a favorite for the victory, making that never had come as a real surprise. The Flemish commentator at the time, Luc Appermont, says he’s in the afternoon for the live final was approached by Frank Naeff, the then Executive Supervios of the EBU: ‘ that afternoon all juries were allowed to hear all the songs without picture. When there was already a kind of order determined ‘, said Abbey a few years ago. A sequence with Sandra Kim at the top so, Judge Van Den Broek and David.

J’aime la viein Belgium was the hit of the year with 350,000 copies sold. The song went 1.4 million times worldwide over the counter. For the Walloon broadcaster RTBF was the Organization of the 1987 edition of the financial problems in which he remains to this day camps.

Céline Dion

Soon after the victory in 1986, it became clear that the parents of the singer taken had let themselves in and had signed a contract with manager Marino-Atria: the first two years after the release of the song J’aime la vie came him all royalties of the sales, and later soured the relationship completely. After a few years they broke all the professional contact.

But the career of Sandra Kim was never really launched. The Walloon Flanders is today more well known than on the other side of the language border. In the early 1990s, they are still some quantitative terms- in duet with Alex and Frank Galan, but afterwards it became quiet, a few commercials. In 2011 brought Calderone album, but that was divided, as an annex, a Belgian magazine.

Van den Broek and David contacted the singer, but they left her irritation that they only once a year, around the Eurovision period, some attention: ‘ I am not Celine Dion, eh. I’m just a girl from Belgium that has tried to make the best of it. […] Meanwhile I’m 43 years old and I sit well in my sheet. I am 100% happy? No, but who’s that? ‘

België

BELGIEEX-DEELNEMERS

Sandra Kim regrette sa participation à l’Eurovision

L’article a été paru aujourd’hui, car il y a 30 ans jour pour jour que l’artiste a remporté le concours. Le 3 mai 1986, elle convainquit le jury avec J’aime la vie et fut la première Belge à remporter la victoire de la compétition. Il y a quelques semaines, paraissait sa biographie Si j’avais su. L’article complet peut être lu dès à présent dans l’édition papier de De Morgen. Les abonnés peuvent aussi trouver l’article en ligne.

Barbara Streisand

Sandra Kim a remporté le concours Eurovision de la chanson quand elle n’avait seulement que 13 ans, devenant la plus jeune gagnante – et qui continuera à le rester, car l’âge minimum imposé a été revu à 16 ans depuis 1990. À l’âge de huit ans, la Liégeoise d’origines italiennes, remporta le show télévisé La Voix de l’avenir grâce à son interprétation de New York, New York de Barbara Streisand.
En 1985, alors qu’elle avait douze ans, elle remporta le Festival della Canzone Italiana in Belgio. Après la victoire, ses parents ont été approchés par Rosario Marino-Atria, qui est devenu son manager. Cela ne sera pas sans problèmes…

Pas vraiment une surprise

Son manager inscrit Sandra Kim aux éliminatoires wallonnes du concours de l’Eurovision de 1986, qu’elle remporta haut la main. La Belgique a immédiatement été élue favorite, ce qui ne fut pas vraiment une surprise. Le commentateur flamand de l’époque, Luc Appermont, dit qu’il avait été approché par Frank Naeff, l’ex Superviseur Exécutif de l’UER : «Cette après-midi, tous les membres du jury étaient autorisés à entendre toutes les chansons, sans voir les photos », disait Appermont il y a quelques années. Sandra Kim se trouvait donc en tête de séquence, estiment Van Den Broek et Debackere.
J’aime la vie a été le succès de l’année en Belgique avec 350 000 exemplaires vendus. Dans le monde entier, ce sont 1,4 million qui se sont écoulés. Selon la chaine wallonne RTBF, l’organisation de l’édition de 1987 avaient des problèmes financiers dont elle n’en est pas encore débarrassée aujourd’hui.

Céline Dion

Peu de temps après la victoire de 1986, il est devenu clair que les parents de la chanteuse ont été dupés en ayant signé un contrat avec le manager Marino-Atria : les deux premières années après la sortie de la chanson J’aime la vie, toutes les redevances des ventes lui sont revenues. Après quelques années, ils ont rompu tous contacts professionnels.

Cependant, la carrière de Sandra Kim n’a jamais été vraiment lancée. La Wallonne est plus connue aujourd’hui en Flandres que de l’autre côté de la frontière linguistique. Dans le début des années 90, elle parvient encore à quelques succès en duo avec Luc Steeno et Frank Galan, mais ensuite on ne l’a plus entendue, si ce n’est que dans quelques publicités télévisées. En 2011, Calderone sortit un album mais uniquement disponible à l’achat d’un magazine wallon.

Van den Broek et Debackere ont pris contact avec la chanteuse, mais celle-ci a fait sentir son irritation sur le fait qu’elle ne reçoit de l’attention qu’une fois par an, autour de la période de l’Eurovision : « Je ne suis pas Céline Dion, hein. Je ne suis qu’une fille venant de Belgique qui a tenté d’en tirer le meilleur parti. […] Depuis lors, j’ai 43 ans et je me sens bien dans ma peau. Suis-je heureuse à 100 % ? Non, mais qui l’est»

Traduction: Jordan Jamme