Listen to the twenty Maltese songs

Unfortunately this article is not available in English and has been automatically translated. Please visit our homepage for all English content or get an overview of all English articles here. You can also request a translation by sending us an email.

During the live broadcast of the Maltese State broadcaster TVM Xarabank were tonight announced the 20 candidates who will participate in Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2016, the local Eurovision heat.

The 20 numbers and associated artists who qualify for the live shows at the end of January are:
Jasmine Abela – Alive
Deborah C – All Around the World
Ira Losco – Chameleon (Invincible)
Domenique Azzopardi – Empty Hearted
Corazon (Mizzi) – Falling Glass
Dominic – Fire Burn
Raquel Galdes – Flashing Lights
Danica Muscat – Frontline
Brooke – Golden
Dario Mifsud Bonnici – I Love You
Franklin Calleja – I Won’t Surrender
Christabelle Borg – Kingdom
Stefan Galea – Light Up My Life
Kimberley Cortis – Lighthouse
Sarah Crytsal – Right Here With You
IRA Losco – that’s Why I Love You
Jessika – The Flame
Daniel Testa – Under the Sun
Maxine Pace – Young Love
Laurence Gray – you’re Beautiful

As hoped by many is Ira Losco got to the live shows, both with her songs. The singer received in 2002 a second place for Malta with the song 7th Wonder. All twenty songs are now fully on the Eurovision website of the broadcaster TVM.

The broadcaster had previously already know that the selection as usual in the last years on two consecutive evenings will be finished. On Friday evening January 22, you may experience the 20 selected Semifinalists with their song. Six of them die, the other fourteen punches to final, the evening after that, Saturday 23 January. A six-member jury agrees in both broadcasts and the Maltese public as ‘ seventh juror ‘, or with just a sloppy 14% voting rights in the final verdict.