Finns have 18 participants

Unfortunately this article is not available in English and has been automatically translated. Please visit our homepage for all English content or get an overview of all English articles here. You can also request a translation by sending us an email.

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu or UMK, the annual national tour of Finland, will start in February.

There are three qualifying rounds and a grand final. Krista Siegfrids, in 2013 the Finnish candidate in Malmö, presents the shows along with Roope Salminen. However, on 13 February, he will only have to do it, because then Siegfrids takes part in that other Scandinavian for round, Melodifestivalen.

A total of eighteen candidates a stab at Eurovision success. Two of them are old acquaintances: Saara Aalto was five years ago, second in the preliminary round, and Mikael Saari three years ago, and now want to know in the so do better. The final will take place on 27 February. Three of the six candidates from each show go by. Below the selected candidates, per preliminary round:

1st qualifying round (06/02)
Saara Aalto – No Fear
Mikko Herranen-Evil Tone
Stella Christine – Ain’t Got Time for Boys
Eini – Draamaa
ClemSO – Thief
Pää-Äijät – Shamppanjataivas

2nd qualifying round (13/02)
Attention 2 – Ready For The Show
Cristal Snow-Love Is Blind
Lee-Roy Milán & Kimmo Blom – Good Enough
Janet R – Rise Up
Naina – Blazing Fire
Mikael Saari – On It Goes

3rd qualifying round (20/02)
Lieminen – arvojen vaalijat Pehmeiden
Tuuli Okkonen – Don’t Wake Me Up
Gušani Brothers – Poom Poom
Barbe-Q-Barbies – Let Me Out
Pietarin Spektaakkeli – Lampard kuuma
Sandhja – Sing It Away

All songs can be heard on the website of UMK. The winner will walk away with the not too bothered to have a better performance for Finland to win than last year. The Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät Group ended last in the semifinals in Vienna with Aina pitää mun.